Seven Churches

7 Messages – One Main Thing

The disciple John, who wrote down the book of Revelation, was told to write to the seven churches. These were real churches in real towns and cities at that time. They didn’t have a mail system like we do so they would send the letter by messenger to the first town. Those people would read it and then send it on to the next town or city. So everyone got to read what Jesus was saying to their neighbor’s as well as themselves.

Here’s a very simple list of the seven churches and how they are described in Revelation chapters 2 and 3.

  • Ephesus – the loveless church
  • Smyrna – the persecuted church
  • Pergamos – the compromising church
  • Thyatira – the corrupt church
  • Sardis – the dead church
  • Philadelphia – the faithful church
  • Laodicea – the lukewarm church

Not only were these messages important to the churches back in John’s time, they were also for all of God’s people in the future. Rev. 1:19 That means they are also important for us too!

Jesus had a lot to say to the seven churches. Right now let’s focus on one thing that must be important because it’s mentioned seven times in the seven messages.

That thing is to REPENT. To repent does not mean to be just a little sorry for something. Repent means to make a complete about face, stop what you’re doing wrong, turn around and go in the opposite direction. It’s a complete makeover!


  • Highlight the word “repent” everywhere it appears in Revelation chapters 2 and 3. If you don’t want to mark in your Bible, print out the chapters from an online Bible.
  • Which two churches were not told to repent?

Here is a great prayer to pray often.

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me. And lead me in the way everlasting.” Psalm 139:23-24

When God shows you anything that you need to change in your life or in your heart, repent! Turn about face, and start walking the way He is leading you.

Download the free “Introduction to Revelation” lessons. A great introduction to the book of Revelation for kids or grown-ups.


For a more in-depth study on the seven churches that’s geared toward 8-12 year olds, see our “Lessons from the Book of Revelation: The Seven Churches”.